Jordan Marsh Blueberry Muffins

IMG_0442

Why would a Puerto Rican girl talk about the Jordan’s Marsh muffins? Well, before I became a stay at home mom, I used to work as a QA consultant in the pharmaceutical industry, and it made me a very meticulous researcher. So before I bake anything, I check a bunch of recipes and choose the best one. I was looking for a blueberry muffin recipe and I discovered, not only the best blueberry muffin recipe I have ever baked, but also a great story to tell.

I saw this old newspaper article on Pinterest about these famous Jordan Marsh Blueberry Muffins and that was enough to capture my attention. Who was this Jordan Marsh and why so many people claim to have his original recipe?!

12d9dd4684524c4def276de53f681a0b

Well, to my surprise, Jordan Marsh & Co. was not only the first Department Store originated in Boston, but also in all the United States. The store operated from 1841 to 1996, until it merged with Macy’s. This store was a symbol of luxury and fashion,  but from what I learned in my search the Bostonians remember Jordan Marsh because of two major things, their Blueberry Muffins and their huge Christmas village at the sixth floor. I was amazed at the all the stories about these huge blueberries muffins: so moist and covered with sugar, stories of children doing their best to behave in hope that their parents would buy them a blueberry muffin, or of people making long lines to buy dozens of muffins for Christmas or Mother’s Day.

jordan1
Photo/Art by Anne Horst/i2iart

I’m glad I had to read all of this information before I made the muffins, because once I had the first bite with my coffee I understood the Bostonian madness about these blueberry muffins! Are they as good as the “real” Jordan Marsh muffins?  Well, who knows, but for me they are the best muffins that I have ever made. So, do not hesitate to discover this pinch of sugar!

IMG_0437
Now that is what I called a perfect bake!! Just Yum

 

IMG_0419.JPG
Hint: In a separate bowl, toss the blueberries with 1 tablespoon of flour and  then fold them in the batter. This prevents the blueberries from sinking to the bottom of the muffins.

Ingredients:

1/2 cup butter

1 cup granulated sugar

2 eggs

2 cups flour + 1 tablespoon for the blueberries

1/2 tsp salt

2 tsp baking powder

1/2 cup milk

1 tsp vanilla extract (I used 1 ½ teaspoon)

3 cups fresh blueberries

2 Tbsp granulated sugar, for topping the muffins

*Optional: Mix some raw sugar with the granulated sugar for that crystallized sugar look on the muffins.

 

Let’s Bake

  1. If you don’t have a timer in your oven preheat your oven ahead at 450 degree.
  1. Butter, or spray with a non-stick vegetable spray, a muffin pan and butter the top of the pan also. Line the bottom of each muffin cup with parchment paper.
  1. Cream butter & sugar on low speed for about 3 minutes.  Add eggs one at a time, blending thoroughly after each addition.
  1. Sift together flour, salt, & baking powder, set aside.
  1. Mix together vanilla & milk, set aside.
  1. Alternately add the dry mixture & the milk mixture to the butter/sugar mixture until it is all blended.
  1. Mash 1 cup of blueberries and stir in by hand. Then, on the remaining blueberries, mix 1 tablespoon of flour and also stir by hand. This will prevent the berries from sinking.
  1. Fill muffin cups to the top of the pan. Sprinkle the raw & granulated sugar all over muffins.
  1. Bake at 450 degrees for 5 minutes and then drop the temperature to 375 degree for 30 minutes, and enjoy this pinch of sugar!!!

IMG_0446.JPG

Leave a Reply

