Mama’s Pound Cake

FullSizeRender-1

I always say the simplest things are sometimes the most difficult to achieve. A few weeks ago my husband asked me: “Why you don’t make a pound cake?” You know, a traditional pound cake, the buttery kind that you don’t find at bakeries anymore. What task! Well, after a couple of days searching over my books and the web, looks like I did my assignment well because this old fashioned Mama’s Pound Cake is worth every bite!

The pound cake is made like grandmas use to do it, with a combination of butter and shortening. And let me tell you, the shortening can’t be replaced, is the key to success of this cake! One thing I learned during my search is that most pound cake recipes call for the combination of two or more flavors extracts. That’s what makes that particular pound cake taste. I chose almond & vanilla, since is the more traditional.

To make a long story short, when my husband tasted his first slice he told me : “Oh my! How did you find this recipe?! This is exactly the flavor I was looking for!” So I’m very excited to share this classic recipe with you! And I hope all of you enjoy it with a good cup of coffee of course!

 

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon fine salt
  • 5 eggs
  • 3 cups all-purpose flour, plus more for pan
  • 3 cups sugar
  • 1/2 cup vegetable shortening
  • 1/2 lb (2 sticks) butter, plus more for pan
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 teaspoon of almond extract

 

Let’s Bake!

  1. Preheat oven to 350°.
  2. With a mixer, cream butter and shortening together, add sugar a little at a time. Add eggs, 1 at a time, beating after each addition.
  3. In another bowl, stir dry ingredients together (flour, salt & baking powder), then add to mixer alternating with milk; starting with flour and ending with flour. Mix in vanilla.FullSizeRender
  4. Pour into a greased and floured tube pan and bake for 1 to 1 1/2 hours, until a toothpick inserted in the center of the cake comes out clean  Note: if you are using a bread pan, the baking time is 50 minutes and yield two loaf

Recipe Adapted from, Paula Deen’s The Lady and Sons Savannah Country Cookbook, copyright 1997. 

Pin me

FullSizeRender-2

 

Leave a Reply

